Plots to sack chebukati emerges

IEBC chair person Wafula Chebukati

By Victoria magar

A fresh plot to remove and replace the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) chairman and two other commissioners has emerged days after Uhuru declared vaccanicies for commissioners.

IEBC chairperson Wafula Chebukati

For three years now, the electoral body has been controlled by chairman Wafula Chebukati together with commissioners Abdi Guliye and Boya Molu following the resignation of their four colleagues.

Even the past election done by the electrol body controlled by Wafula Chebukati raised complains and a lot of talking among kenyans and the political leaders saying the electrol body was involved in a lot of rigging in almost all the election done by IEBC.

The scheme, which is said to be orchestrated by certain political players, came after President Uhuru Kenyatta declared four positions in the electoral agency vacant. The head of the state’s announcement is said to be part of the plan where the said political faction seeks to replace the four commissioners, then turn their guns on Chebukati, Guliye and Molu.

With the recruitment exercise of the commissioners slated for this week, once they assume office, it is reported that the trio will be ousted.

An Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) confidant intimated that they wanted to replace the resigned commissioners first to avoid creating a vacuum.

The impending ouster is said to be part of the electoral reforms pushed by the Raila Odinga-led outfit ahead of the 2022 General Election.

As previously reported, IEBC vacancies came about following the resignation of commissioners Paul Kurgat, Margaret Mwachanya and Connie Maina on April 16, 2018.


Paul kurgat,Margaret Mwachanya and Connie Maina when they were resigning.

Another commissioner, Roselyne Akombe, had also left the commission a few days ahead of the repeat of the 2017 presidential election.

The Supreme Court had nullified the highly contested election that led to a series of protests by the National Super Alliance (NASA) party supporters.