Why Ford Kenya party wrangles will not end soon

Photo: CGN
Governor Wangamati,MPs Wafula Wamunyinyi,Ford Kenya SG Eseli Simiyu and Dan Wanyama

by Mukavi Emmanuel,

The FORD KENYA leadership position rank lays in the middle of wrangles ahead of the 2022 poll. Ford Kenya party had experienced conflicts over a long time about the leadership of

Governor Wangamati,MPs Wafula Wamunyinyi,Ford Kenya SG Eseli Simiyu and Dan Wanyama

the party among its members for a long time

Ford Kenya secretary-general Dr. Eseli Simiyu went to court to challenge the chairperson Moses Wetangula for holding a position as the chairperson for the Ford Kenya party.

The High court ruled in favor of Wetangula to reinstate him as the chairperson of the Ford Kenya party. Wetangula cited that the coup plotters Dr. Eseli Simiyu and Wafula Wamunyinyi, Tongeren, and Kanduyi MPs respectively had no reason to topple him as the chairperson in Ford Kenya party.

Wetangula ordered the expel of the two highlighting they went against the party constitution and had no reason to be members by any chance and they had; breached the national constitution of instilling order and good conduct in the management of political parties, breach the party constitution, breach the political activity and they had no reason to hold positions in the Ford Kenya party.

The Ford Kenya had a long term history since it was formed in 1991 by leaders to fight over change. Among the leaders were Oginga Odinga and Kenneth Matiba, the party later split after the death of Oginga Odinga in 1994 and Michael Wamalwa took its leadership.

The members were Wamalwa Kijana Raila Odinga ,James Orengo,Prof Anyang Nyong’o and Wangari Maathai.Raila Odinga and Wamalwa tusseled over Ford Kenya leadershipfor 2 years.

Wamalwa later won and Raila and a number of Luo MPs left Ford Kenya to join the National Development Party. Ford Kenya become the 4th behind NDP.

Wamalwa later died in 2002 and Musikari Kombo was elected to be the leader for Ford Kenya and that made president Kibaki increase ministers from 3 to 6.

The party was overwhelmed by court cases and New Ford Kenya was formed and registered in 2007 by Soita Shitanda and Dr. Mukhisa Kituyi later joined the party.

Disputes among the Ford Kenya members led Moses Wetangula to become the party leader through the National delegate congress election.